7 August 2014
Legal alert: Significant changes in tax legislation of Ukraine

On 1 August 2014, the President of Ukraine signed the Law of Ukraine № 1621-VII "On Amendments to Tax Code of Ukraine and other legislative acts of Ukraine" (on improvement of certain provisions) (the “Law”). The Law introduces amendments to the Tax Code of Ukraine, laws on national social insurance, the Law of Ukraine "On State Regulation of Production and Turnover of Ethyl Alcohol, Cognac and Fruit spirits, Alcoholic Drinks and Tobacco Products” and other laws.

The Law, inter alia, introduces the following amendments to the Tax Code of Ukraine:

  • temporarily, until 1 January 2015, a new nationwide military duty is introduced – tax, which shall be charged at the rate of 1.5% of personal income. The new tax shall be charged according to the procedure prescribed for the income tax of individuals receiving income in the form of salary, other compensatory or incentive payments and remunerations accrued to the taxpayer either in connection with employment and under civil law contracts; it applies to winnings from state and non-state lottery, winnings in gambling.

VAT:

  • as of 1 November 2014, tax reporting of value added tax shall be submitted electronically to the supervisory authority by all payers following the registration of electronic signature of the reporting persons in accordance with the law;
  • VAT determination base of supplies of goods/services shall not be lower than the purchase price of such goods/services;
  • the date for recognition of VAT credit upon import of services shall be the date of issuing by the payer of the tax invoice, provided that the invoice is registered in the Unified register of VAT invoices;
  • as of 1 November 2014, threshold (the total amount of transactions for the supply of goods/services subject to VAT, within the last 12 calendar months) required for compulsory business registration as VAT payers shall be increased to UAH 1,000,000 (now – UAH 300,000);
  • as of 1 November 2014, electronic VAT administration system shall be introduced. The system includes:
  1. automatic opening of a VAT payer account on the day of the registration of the taxpayer in electronic administration system;
  2. issuing of tax invoices only in electronic form and their registration in the Unified Register of VAT invoices (the “URVI”) if the total amount of the VAT invoice does not exceed the amount calculated by the special formula;
  3. if the amount determined by the formula is lower than the amount of VAT in the invoice, the payer is obliged to transfer the required amount of funds from the current account to the account in the electronic VAT administration system;
  4. as of 1 November 2014, all tax invoices, regardless of the amount of VAT in the tax invoice, shall be subject to registration in the URVI.
  • the amount of VAT not supported by the tax invoices registered in the URVI shall not be referred to the VAT credit;
  • VAT budgetary refund to the taxpayers who meet the established criteria shall be carried out automatically;
  • criteria of taxpayers eligible for automatic budgetary refund are amended.

 Corporate profit tax:

  • privileged corporate income taxation of joint investment institutes is limited;
  • reduced tax rate (10%) on transactions with securities and derivatives is abolished;
  • profit exemption has been abolished for:
  1. the hotel business;
  2. companies producing energy solely from renewable sources.

Natural resources duty:

  •  natural gas:
  1. temporarily, until 1 January 2015, rates for the natural resources duty for extraction of natural gas sold not for public consumption are increased: for gas deposits up to5 km– from 28% to 55%, for gas deposits of more than5 km– from 15% to 28%;
  2. VAT determination base is changed for the natural gas sold not for public consumption. Thus, it was stated that the tax determination base is considered to be the maximum price for natural gas sold to industrial consumers established by the NERC (before the amendment was introduced, the base was considered to be the average customs value of imported natural gas); 
  3. introduced the use of step-down ratio 0.55 on gas extracted from new wells (rate valid for two years from the date of such wells are registered in the State Registry of Oil and Gas Wells);
  • oil products:
  1. temporarily, until 1 January 2015, rates for the natural resources duty for extraction of oil and condensates out of deposits up to5 kmshall be 45%, and more than5 km- 21%;
  • iron ore:
  1. temporarily, until 1 January 2015, rates for the natural resources duty for extraction of iron ore are rated 8% of its value based on the content of chemically pure metal.

 Excise duty:

  •  the amount of excise tax and the minimum excise tax liability of payment of excise duty on tobacco products are increased by 5%;
  • alcohol products shall include products based on alcoholic fermentation of sugar-containing materials or materials based on alcohol containing 8,5% spirit or more. The excise tax for such beverages is set at the level of vodka – UAH 70.53 USD per1 literof 100% spirit, with markings of such beverages by excise tax;
  • temporarily, until 1 January 2015, tax on alternative fuels shall be introduced in the amount of EUR 99 per1000 kg.

Law of Ukraine № 1621-VII «On Amendments to the Tax Code of Ukraine and other legislative acts of Ukraine" came into force on 3 August 2014.

By Arsen Miliutin, Senior Associate at Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners Ukraine.

Practices

7 августа 2014
Legal alert: Существенные изменения в налоговом законодательстве Украины

1 августа 2014 года Президент Украины подписал Закон Украины № 1621-VII «О внесении изменений в Налоговый кодекс Украины и некоторые другие законодательные акты Украины» (далее - Закон). Законом внесены изменения в Налоговый кодекс Украины, группу законов о государственном социальном страховании, Закон Украины «О государственном регулировании производства и оборота спирта этилового, коньячного и плодового, алкогольных напитков и табачных изделий» и другие законы.

Законом, помимо прочего, предусмотрены следующие изменения в Налоговый Кодекс Украины:

  • временно, до 1 января 2015 года, введен новый общегосударственный военный сбор по ставке 1,5% с доходов физических лиц. Указанный сбор будет взиматься в порядке, предусмотренном для налога на доходы физических лиц с доходов в форме заработной платы, поощрительных и компенсационных выплат, других выплат и вознаграждений, которые начисляются налогоплательщику как в связи с трудовыми отношениями, так и по гражданско-правовым договорам; а также распространяется на выигрыши в государственные и негосударственные денежные лотереи, выигрыш игрока, полученный от организатора азартной игры.

В сфере налога на добавленную стоимость:

  • с 1 ноября 2014 года налоговая отчетность по налогу на добавленную стоимость (далее - НДС) подается в контролирующий орган всеми плательщиками в электронной форме с соблюдением условия относительно регистрации электронной подписи подотчетных лиц в порядке, установленном законодательством;
  • база налогообложения операций по поставке товаров/услуг не может быть ниже цены приобретения таких товаров/услуг;
  • датой возникновения права налогоплательщика на отнесение сумм налога к налоговому кредиту для операций по поставке услуг нерезидентом на таможенной территории Украины является дата составления плательщиком налоговой накладной по таким операциям, при условии регистрации такой налоговой накладной в Едином реестре налоговых накладных (далее - ЕРНН);
  • с 1 ноября 2014 года увеличивается лимит (общая сумма от осуществления операций по поставке товаров/услуг, подлежащих налогообложению НДС, в течение последних 12 календарных месяцев), необходимый для обязательной регистрации предприятия плательщиком НДС - с 300 тыс. грн до 1 млн грн.;
  • с 1 ноября 2014 года вводится система электронного администрирования НДС. Данная система предусматривает:
  1. автоматическое открытие счета плательщику НДС в день его регистрации плательщиком налога в системе электронного администрирования;
  2. составление налоговых накладных исключительно в электронном виде и их регистрация в ЕРНН, если общая сумма соответствующей накладной НДС не превышает сумму, исчисленную по установленной формуле;
  3. если сумма, определенная по формуле, меньше, чем сумма НДС в накладной, то плательщик обязан перечислить нужную сумму средств со своего текущего счета на свой счет в системе электронного администрирования НДС;
  4. с 1 ноября 2014 года регистрации в ЕРНН подлежат все налоговые накладные, не зависимо от размера НДС в одной налоговой накладной.
  • не относятся к налоговому кредиту суммы НДС, уплаченного (начисленного) в связи с приобретением товаров/услуг, не подтвержденные зарегистрированными в ЕРНН налоговыми накладными;
  • бюджетное возмещение налогоплательщикам, которые отвечают установленным критериям, осуществляется в автоматическом режиме;
  • изменены критерии налогоплательщиков, имеющих право на автоматическое возмещение.

В сфере налога на прибыль предприятий:

  • ограничено налогообложение прибыли предприятий на льготных условиях для институтов совместного инвестирования;
  • отменено налогообложение по сниженной ставке (10%) прибыли, полученной от операций с ценными бумагами и деривативами;
  • отменено освобождение от налогообложения прибыли для:
  1. субъектов гостиничной деятельности;
  2. предприятий электроэнергетики, производящих электрическую энергию исключительно из возобновляемых источников энергии.

В сфере оплаты за пользование недрами:

  • природный газ:
  1. временно, до 1 января 2015 года, повышены ставки платы за пользование недрами для добычи природного газа, реализуемого не для нужд населения: для газа залеганием до 5 км ставка повышена с 28% до 55%, более 5 км – с 15% до 28%;
  2. изменена база налогообложения для природного газа, который реализуется не для нужд населения. Так, установлено, что базой налогообложения считается максимальный уровень цены на природный газ, реализуемый промышленным потребителям, и который устанавливается НКРЭ (до внесения изменений такой базой была средняя таможенная стоимость импортного природного газа);
  3. внедрено применение понижающего коэффициента 0,55 к ставкам платы для газа, добываемого из новых скважин (коэффициент действует в течение двух лет с даты внесения таких скважин в Государственный реестр нефтяных и газовых скважин);
  • нефтепродукты:
  1. временно, до 1 января 2015 года, для нефти и конденсата из залежей до 5 км установлены ставки платы в размере 45%, более 5 км – 21%;
  • железная руда:
  1. временно, до 1 января 2015 года, установлена плата за пользование недрами для добычи железной руды в размере 8% от ее стоимости с учетом содержания химически чистого металла.

В сфере акцизных налогов:

  • на 5% увеличен размер акцизного налога и минимального акцизного налогового обязательства по уплате акцизного налога на табачные изделия;
  • к алкогольным напиткам отнесены продукты, полученные путем спиртового брожения сахаросодержащих материалов или изготовленные на основе пищевых спиртов с содержанием спирта этилового 8,5% и более. Для таких напитков установлена ставка акцизного налога на уровне водки – 70,53 грн за 1 литр 100% спирта, с маркировкой таких напитков марками акцизного налога;
  • временно, до 1 января 2015 года, введено налогообложение альтернативных топлив на уровне 99 евро за 1000 кг.

Закон Украины № 1621-VII «О внесении изменений в Налоговый кодекс Украины и некоторые другие законодательные акты Украины» вступил в силу 3 августа 2014 года.

Автор - Арсений Милютин, старший юрист ЮБ  «Егоров, Пугинский, Афанасьев и партнеры» Украина.