EVENTS
16 June 2021
ICC Russia and EPAM will host workshop featuring British psychologist Doctor Kimberley Wade on “The Role Of Witness Evidence In International Arbitration”

On June 16, 2021, the Russian National Committee of the International Chamber of Commerce – the World Business Organization (ICC Russia) and EPAM will host a unique workshop “The Role of Witness Evidence in International Arbitration: What We Trust in?”. EPAM Litigation attorneys, Partner Valery Eremenko and Counsel Tatyana Neveeva, will speak at the workshop.

Speaking for the first time ever in Russia, Dr Kimberley A. Wade, professor of psychology at the University of Warwick and world-renowned cognitive psychologist,  will be the featured speaker at a co-hosted ICC Russia and Epam workshop. At the workshop, Dr Wade will discuss the results of the latest research into human memory and the effects of post-event information on eyewitness testimony. Dr Wade is a British psychologist and scholar who has co-authored numerous studies on human memory.

Moreover, the workshop is to present the Russian version of the ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR report “The Accuracy of Fact Witness Memory in International Arbitration”, which was co-authored by Dr Wade and co-translated by Tatyana Neveeva.

Trust is the key factor in the assessment of the role and value of witness testimony in international arbitration and different legal cultures have dealt with this issue differently. Civil law jurisdictions, for instance, are incline to place less focus on witness testimony and more focus on documentary evidence. Some civil law jurisdictions are so skeptical regarding the value of witnesses who are employed by a party to the proceedings, that evidence from such witnesses is not admissible at all. In contrast, common law jurisdictions have placed significant weight on witness testimony and it is from those jurisdictions that the traditions of narrative witness statements and the cross-examination of witnesses have emerged.

At the workshop, the following questions will be addressed:

  • Which “witness testimony” point of view dominates the legal world today?
  • Should one implicitly trust witness testimony or rather disregard it as post-event information affects human memory and often results in distorted or even fabricated memories?
  • How to manage the risks of giving witness testimony?
  • How to specifically differentiate between inaccuracies or distortions arising as a result of the imperfect memory process from a witness’ or even deliberate efforts to distort or color the truth?

Details and registration

KEY CONTACTS

16 июня 2021
ICC Russia при поддержке АБ ЕПАМ проведет практикум с участием британского психолога, доктора Кимберли Уэйда на тему «Роль свидетельских показаний в международном арбитраже»

16 июня 2021 года пройдет уникальный практикум «Роль свидетельских показаний в международном арбитраже: чему мы доверяем?», организатором которого выступает Российский национальный комитет Международной торговой палаты – Всемирной организации бизнеса (ICC Russia) при участии АБ ЕПАМ. В рамках мероприятия выступят адвокаты судебно-арбитражной практики АБ ЕПАМ – партнер Валерий Еременко и советник Татьяна Невеева.

Впервые в России на мероприятии выступит один из самых известных в мире экспертов по когнитивной психологии, профессор факультета психологии Уорикского университета доктор Кимберли Уэйд. В рамках практикума она расскажет о результатах последних исследований в области человеческой памяти и влиянии постсобытийной информации на воспоминания очевидцев того или иного события. Доктор Кимберли Уэйд – британский психолог, ученый, соавтор многочисленных исследований в области человеческой памяти.

Также в рамках мероприятия будет презентована русскоязычная версия доклада Комиссии ICC по международному арбитражу и ДРС «Точность воспоминаний свидетелей, дающих показания по фактическим обстоятельствам в рамках международного арбитража», соавтором которого выступила доктор Кимберли Уэйд, а одним из авторов перевода доклада стала Татьяна Невеева.

Вопрос доверия – ключевой при оценке роли и ценности свидетельских показаний в международном арбитраже. В разных правовых культурах он, как известно, решается по-разному. Юрисдикции континентального права уделяют меньше внимания свидетельским показаниям и больше внимания – документальным доказательствам. Некоторые юрисдикции континентального права настолько скептично относятся к ценности показаний свидетелей, являющихся сотрудниками стороны разбирательства, что считают их показания недопустимыми. Напротив, юрисдикции общего права уделяют значительное внимание показаниям свидетелей, и именно в этих юрисдикциях зародились традиции повествовательных свидетельских показаний и перекрестного допроса свидетелей.

В рамках практикума обсудим:

  • Какая из этих точек зрения доминирует сегодня в мире?
  • Следует ли безоговорочно доверять показаниям свидетелей, или же, наоборот, пренебрегать ими в силу того, что на память человека воздействует пост-событийная информация, приводящая зачастую к искажениям воспоминаний и даже формированию ложных воспоминаний?
  • Как управлять рисками, связанными с представлением свидетельских показаний?
  • В частности, как отличать неточности или искажения, которые возникают в результате несовершенства процесса запоминания, от намеренных усилий свидетеля исказить или приукрасить истину?

Подробности и регистрация

КЛЮЧЕВЫЕ КОНТАКТЫ