26 February 2015
Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners remains the only CIS-based law firm top ranked by GAR 100

Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners has been listed among top-100 international arbitration practices worldwide by the prestigious Global Arbitration Review (GAR 100). For the fifth year running it continues to be the only CIS law firm recognized by GAR 100.

This year GAR 100 recognises the Firm’s Chairman, Dimitry Afanasiev for his "strong connections with various home-grown corporations and foreign entities and the Russian state". The guide also commends partners Dmitry Dyakin, “outstanding” Sergey Kovalev, Markiyan Kliuchkovskyi, Evgeny Raschevsky, Belarus Managing Partner Dennis Turovets, and “English dual-qualified barrister and solicitor” Robin Wittering. It recognises Managing Partner Ilya Nikiforov as "the first Russian or CIS practitioner” to be appointed “Vice-Chair of the ICC Commision on Arbitration and ADR.” Serhii Sviriba, Managing Partner in Ukraine, is praised for “creating well-defined and well-executed strategy," while Counsel Dmytro Marchukov is singled out for his “cross-examination skills.” Oleksandr Volkov’s admission to practice law in New York State and Olga Vishnevskaya’s successful completion of Geneva LLM program in International Dispute Settlement and half-year internship at Sidley Austin’s Geneva office are also recognised.

Among the firm’s recent cases - “participation in the International Olympic Committee’s Pro bono Lawyers Program for Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games” where the Firm “handled two out of four cases heard by the CAS ad hoc Division for the Olympics.” “More CAS work came from Ukrainian football club Metalist over allegations of match-fixing.” The firm’s work on advising Ukraine in two ICSID proceeding resulting in full dismissal of all claims, and assisting European shareholders in Moldova’s largest bank - Agroinbank - are highlighted.

According to GAR 100 the firm’s list of clients include Russian Railways, Nestle, A1 Group, Irish Bank Resolution, Neocorp, Hochtief, Pacific Inter-Link, BP, Telenor, TeliaSonera, Sibirskiy Cement, etc.

Clients praise the Firm’s arbitration team for “its size” and multi-office presence. They say “the firm employed highly innovative approaches, cross-linking various Ukrainian and international precedents to achieve one of the first recognitions of foreign judgment in the jurisdiction.” Other source mentions the firm “was very impressive in collecting evidence, managing 100-plus separate smaller cases at the same time, and speaking before the court.”

Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners is one of the leaders in the field of international arbitration, successfully representing the interests of both the government and major local and international companies. Its International Arbitration & Litigation Practice has been recommended by leading sources, including Chambers, Legal 500, Best Lawyers, Who's Who Legal, Pravo.ru, and many others.

Key contacts

Ilya
Nikiforov

Moscow, St. Petersburg

Dmitry
Dyakin

Moscow

Dimitry
Afanasiev

Moscow, London, Limassol

 

EPAM EMAIL UPDATES

Sectors *
Type(s) of email updates you are interested in *
Jurisdiction(s) you are interested in *
Practice area(s) you are interested in *
* Required fields

RSS

News
Media Coverage
Legal Updates
Rankings and Awards

26 февраля 2015
«Егоров, Пугинский, Афанасьев и партнеры» остается единственной юридической фирмой из СНГ в рейтинге GAR 100

«Егоров, Пугинский, Афанасьев и партнеры» вновь вошло в сотню лучших юридических фирм в области арбитража международного издания Global Arbitration Review (GAR 100). Пятый год подряд Бюро остается единственной юридической фирмой из СНГ в списке GAR 100.

В этом году GAR 100 отмечает члена Комитета Партнеров Бюро Дмитрия Афанасьева за налаженные бизнес-контакты. Справочник также рекомендует партнеров Дмитрия Дякина, Маркияна Ключковского, Евгения Ращевского, «выдающегося» Сергея Ковалева, Робина Уиттеринга - «барристера и солиситора, квалифицированного по английскому праву», управляющего партнера минского офиса Бюро Дениса Туровца. Кроме того, справочник отмечает управляющего партнера Бюро Илью Никифорова как «единственного юриста из России и СНГ, который был избран вице-председателем ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR». Сергей Свириба, управляющий партнер Бюро в Украине, отмечен за умение «выбрать правильную и четкую стратегию». Издание рекомендует советника Дмитрия Марчукова, а также отдельно отмечает юриста Александра Волкова, допущенного к юридической практике в штате Нью-Йорк; и старшего юриста Ольгу Вишневскую, которая успешно завершила обучение по программе «Разрешение международных споров» в Женеве, получив степень магистра права, и прошла полугодовую стажировку в женевском офисе фирмы Sidley Austin.

Среди завершенных проектов GAR 100 упоминает участие Бюро «в программе по оказанию юридической помощи pro bono членам официальных делегаций сборных команд стран-участниц Олимпийских игр 2014 года в Сочи», где юристы Бюро «сопровождали два из четырех дел, рассмотренных Палатой ad hoc при CAS в период проведения зимних Олимпийских игр в Сочи». Также упоминается, что «Бюро выступало консультантом по делу об организации договорных матчей футбольным клубом «Металлист», рассматриваемого в CAS». Кроме того, Бюро успешно представляло интересы акционеров крупнейшего молдавского банка Agroinbank, а также интересы Украины в ходе двух дел, рассматриваемых в ICSID, в результате чего были отозваны все претензии к государству.

Среди клиентов Бюро справочник называет РЖД, Nestle, A1 Group, Irish Bank Resolution, Neocorp, Hochtief, Pacific Inter-Link, BP, Telenor, TeliaSonera, «Сибирский цемент» и др.

Клиенты отмечают «впечатляющее количество юристов» арбитражной практики и наличие сети собственных офисов, а также тот факт, что Бюро «использует инновационный подход в работе, объединяя локальный и международный опыт в ходе разрешения прецедентных споров с тем, чтобы обеспечить признание решений иностранных судов в своей юрисдикции».

Кроме того, клиенты ценят высокий профессиональный уровень и блестящие навыки юристов Бюро, упоминая в частности «впечатляющие результаты в ходе сбора внушительного количества доказательств», «умение вести более 100 дел одновременно», а также «блестящие навыки выступления в суде».

«Егоров, Пугинский, Афанасьев и партнеры» является признанным лидером в области международного арбитража, успешно представляя интересы правительств, а также крупнейших локальных и международных компаний. Практика разрешения споров Бюро рекомендована ведущими международными и российскими справочниками, включая Chambers, Legal 500, Best Lawyers, Who's Who Legal, Best Lawyers, Право.ру и другими. 

КЛЮЧЕВЫЕ КОНТАКТЫ

Илья Никифоров

Илья Никифоров

Санкт-Петербург, Москва

Дмитрий Aфанасьев

Дмитрий Aфанасьев

Лимасол, Лондон, Москва